Large Scale Downunder Forum


Author Topic:  Lack of Radio range  (Read 203 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Nick57Topic starter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • LSD Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
Lack of Radio range
« on: July 21, 2019, 08:44:40 PM »
Hi everyone,
I have a Rovan Baja 290S, with the Flysky FS-GT3B radio, and a Hilantronics Micron 1 kill switch. I can't get much more than 60 metres range before the engine cuts out. The electronics are good, as I still have steering.
I have set the glitch sensitivity on the kill switch to minimium.
Any ideas/suggestions?

Offline Pappa Smurf

  • LSD Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Addicted LSD Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Liked: 1161
  • have fun with LS or you'll go mad
  • Location: South Gippsland  Victoria 38S 145 E is close
  • Club: LSCV
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2019, 02:24:41 PM »
I have several  cars and boats all using, 3 Flysky gt3b's between them. Several ? ? ? I like my son and grand children to join in when they can. I use a different brand of switch and have no problems over 200m This has been mentioned before but I cannot remember the solution. Can you contact Hilantronics
Grumpy old carnt
1 x Rovan 5b and loving it
2 x gas monos
1 HPI 5b
1 MCD
2 Losi 5iveT
Happy user of Micks Mods motors

5 assorted Aeros
Red Lion Rebel
Bunyip Basher
Leongatha Lout
2013 Nats with Sammy
LSCV No 10

Offline Nick57Topic starter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • LSD Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2019, 02:52:58 PM »
Hey Pappa Smurf,
Yeah, I have an email to them waiting on a reply. Just putting it out there to all and sundry, trying to get as much info as I can
Where abouts in South Gippy are you? My parents are from Wonthaggi.
Cheers
Nick

Offline Pappa Smurf

  • LSD Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Addicted LSD Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Liked: 1161
  • have fun with LS or you'll go mad
  • Location: South Gippsland  Victoria 38S 145 E is close
  • Club: LSCV
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2019, 10:23:44 PM »
Venus Bay
Grumpy old carnt
1 x Rovan 5b and loving it
2 x gas monos
1 HPI 5b
1 MCD
2 Losi 5iveT
Happy user of Micks Mods motors

5 assorted Aeros
Red Lion Rebel
Bunyip Basher
Leongatha Lout
2013 Nats with Sammy
LSCV No 10

Offline Nick57Topic starter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • LSD Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2019, 10:40:24 AM »
Nice!

Offline nitrocat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full LSD Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Liked: 140
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2019, 12:54:12 AM »
Look at the power connections if the plug has play in it it will set it off I had to hard wire mine to stop it from shutting it down when the motor was running
Using Tapatalk

Offline Nick57Topic starter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • LSD Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2019, 01:05:38 PM »
All the connections look/feel tight. One of the 1st things I checked.

Offline Ozzy Mozzy

  • Forum Owner
  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Addicted LSD Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14138
  • Liked: 15411
    • Steve
    • Large Scale Downunder
  • Instagram: OzzyMozzyLSD
  • Location: Victoria
  • Club: Freestyle Flyers
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2019, 04:27:50 PM »
Have you got another Receiver to try?
visitors can't see pics , please You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login or You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

Offline nitrocat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full LSD Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Liked: 140
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2019, 05:10:35 PM »
Start it and wiggle them while itís running mine felt tight to but it shut off
Using Tapatalk

Offline Nick57Topic starter

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • LSD Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Liked: 0
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2019, 10:49:35 AM »
Replaced the receiver on the weekend, made no difference. Thinking of replacing the whole radio unit, transmitter and receiver.

Offline Pappa Smurf

  • LSD Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Addicted LSD Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2377
  • Liked: 1161
  • have fun with LS or you'll go mad
  • Location: South Gippsland  Victoria 38S 145 E is close
  • Club: LSCV
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2019, 01:19:40 PM »
If the radio works without the kill switch plugged in then I doubt a radio problem. A second receiver ?? The problem is most likely matching the killy Perhaps a different brand of kill switch would be a cheaper option. I use Killer RC  switches no problems thumbsup
« Last Edit: July 29, 2019, 01:22:36 PM by Pappa Smurf »
Grumpy old carnt
1 x Rovan 5b and loving it
2 x gas monos
1 HPI 5b
1 MCD
2 Losi 5iveT
Happy user of Micks Mods motors

5 assorted Aeros
Red Lion Rebel
Bunyip Basher
Leongatha Lout
2013 Nats with Sammy
LSCV No 10

Offline mickyd213

  • LSD Contributor
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Addicted LSD Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
  • Liked: 1289
  • Location: Clifton Springs, Victoria
  • Club: GRCOR
Re: Lack of Radio range
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2019, 05:00:44 PM »
I had a GT3B early on and would only get around 50-60m range when running it in my baja and later on losi truck. Upgraded to the FS iT4 and got similar range (maybe 80m) out of it. Whether there was interference around my area I'm not sure but I was happy with 80m as it's getting too far away to control properly without being elevated... (And I need all the elevation I can get... lol)
I've upgraded again and used both radiopost and futaba but haven't range tested them as they are just used for track days.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login or You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login

GRCOR member: 0009